Private investigation is a highly specialized field that requires proper training and education in Canada. Often, the security and investigation services industry is regulated by the province, which ensures that all licensed private investigators are qualified to provide investigative services in accordance with provincial and federal laws. To become a licensed private investigator, you must complete 50 hours of training and pass the licensing exam. 

Some investigative services legislation outlines the requirements for obtaining a private investigator's license. It requires all private investigators to complete an approved training course before they can be licensed.  

The course must cover the following topics: :

 1. Introduction to the private investigation industry

 2. The Private Security and Investigation Services Act

 3. Provincial and federal legislation

 4. Criminal and civil law

 5. Survey techniques

 6. Principles of ethical reasoning/decision making

 7. Key principles of communication and interaction

 8. Self-management skills

Private Investigator Training

The Private Investigator Training course is also open to individuals interested in working in the security guard industry or private security and investigation services. The course provides a solid foundation in key industry principles and practices that are essential to success in any related field.

During private investigator training, you will learn about the rules, laws and guidelines surrounding the investigation industry, as well as practical content related to the field.  

After completing the private investigator training course and receiving your training completion number, you can apply for a private investigator license. The licensing process involves submitting an application, passing a written exam, and passing a background check. Then you have a private investigator license that is valid for two years.

L’enquête privée est un domaine hautement spécialisé qui nécessite une formation et une éducation appropriées au Canada.  Souvent, l’industrie des services de sécurité et d’enquête est réglementée par la province qui veille à ce que tous les enquêteurs privés titulaires d’un permis soient qualifiés pour fournir des services d’enquête conformes aux lois provinciales et fédérales. Pour devenir enquêteur privé agréé, vous devez suivre 50 heures de formation et réussir l’examen d’obtention du permis. 

Certaines lois sur les services d’enquête décrit les exigences relatives à l’obtention d’un permis d’enquêteur privé.  Il exige que tous les enquêteurs privés suivent un cours de formation approuvé avant de pouvoir être autorisés.  

Le cours doit couvrir les sujets suivants :

 1. Introduction à l’industrie des enquêtes privées

 2. La Loi sur les services privés de sécurité et d’enquête

 3. Lois provinciales et fédérales

 4. Droit pénal et droit civil

 5. Techniques d’enquête

 6. Principes de raisonnement éthique/prise de décision

 7. Principes clés de la communication et de l’interaction

 8. Compétences d’autogestion

Formation d’enquêteur privé

Le cours de formation d’enquêteur privé est également ouvert aux personnes intéressées à travailler dans l’industrie des agents de sécurité ou des services de sécurité et d’enquête privés.  Le cours fournit une base solide dans les principes et pratiques clés de l’industrie, qui sont essentiels pour réussir dans tout domaine connexe.

Au cours de la formation de détective privé, vous découvrirez les règles, les lois et les directives entourant l’industrie des enquêtes, ainsi que le contenu pratique lié au domaine.  

Après avoir terminé le cours de formation de détective privé et reçu votre numéro de fin de formation, vous pouvez demander une licence de détective privé.  Le processus d’octroi de licence implique de soumettre une candidature, de passer un examen écrit et de subir une vérification des antécédents.  Ensuite, vous avez une licence de détective privé valable deux ans.